Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Club News > WIB-Capital Region News > WIB-Capital Region Member Spotlight: Nhung Hoang

WIB-Capital Region Member Spotlight: Nhung Hoang

Nhung Hoang

Tell us about your background (both educational and professional).
I earned my bachelor's degree in crop science from Vietnam National University of Agriculture. Then, I received my PhD in plant breeding, genetics, and genomics at the University of Missouri, Columbia, where I studied the role of microRNAs in the legume - Rhizobium nitrogen-fixing symbiosis. Following my PhD, I have three years of experience working as an R&D Chemistry, Manufacturing, and Control (CMC) scientist at Kyoto Biken Hanoi Laboratories Company, where I optimized the virus propagation procedure for cattle vaccine products.

What are your top three tips for women who are just starting their careers?

• Never hesitate to try and fail, whether it is throwing yourself out in a new environment or accomplishing an incredibly daunting project.
  • Develop your own professional development plan with clear goals and detailed steps to get there.
  • Being eager to learn and improve yourself each day.

What are some of the biggest challenges women still face in the life sciences?

• There is a negative bias towards women on capabilities and work commitment despite having similar levels of proficiency with their male counterparts.
  • It is difficult for women who have young children to maintain their work-life balance since women tend to be the primary caregivers for their children.

What is the most exciting and personally fulfilling part of your work right now?