Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Club News > WIB-Capital Region News > WIB-Capital Region Leadership Spotlight, Geeta Peverada, Chapter Chair

WIB-Capital Region Leadership Spotlight, Geeta Peverada, Chapter Chair

Geeta Peverada

Geeta Peverada
WIB-Capital Region Chapter Chair
Senior Manager, Project Management – Medical Affairs at Amgen

Tell us about your background (both educational and professional).
I am an experienced Program Manager with a passion for bringing life-changing medicines to patients at an expedited speed. I earned my PhD in cancer biology from the University of Wuerzburg in Germany, followed by both post-doctoral and professional research positions at Dana Farber Cancer Institute/Harvard Medical School. I also hold an MBA with a focus on leadership and strategic management from the University of Maryland.

My journey in the Biotech/Pharma industry began as a Quality Control Program Manager at a CDMO (Contract Development and Manufacturing Organization) in Maryland, where I supported multiple Phase I, II, III, and commercial client programs to bring their drugs to the clinic and patients. Currently, I serve as the Senior Manager, Project Management in the Medical Affairs team at Amgen, where I am bridging the gap between R&D and Commercial teams to bring the most accurate and up-to-date scientific messaging to the physicians and patients.

What are your top three tips for women who are just starting their careers?
My top three tips are:

1. Attend online and in-person events in the industry to create a professional network
  2. Focus on your strengths and what experience and expertise will you bring to the role
  3. Invest in continuous learning and professional development by having a growth mindset